Simple Oklahoman Beauty

Hi blog people! Today I was inspired by life around me. I think it’s the coolest thing in the world that people from different countries read my posts and I wanted to show you all a piece of my life. I love traveling so very much, I feel like it’s the best way to learn/grow as a person, but I know it’s impossible to travel everywhere on earth in our short lifetimes so I wanted to show you this piece of the world that you may never get to see in real life! I think that’s the best thing about the internet, the whole world is a click of a button away and you can learn so much so mundanely.

I was born and raised in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, a state in the heart of the United States! Every state in the U.S. is different from the other and we are definitely a more relaxed state. You might know us for our crazy devastating tornados. Today, I was hanging out with my family and we decided to go downtown for a walk and some ice cream so I decided to make this post. Also, this was a great chance for me to test my new phone camera 🙂

My dreams of being a social entrepreneur and my high level of millenialness will definitely get me out of Oklahoma in the next decade, but I feel truly blessed to live the life I do. Growing up, I did a fair amount of traveling. Going to amazing cities helped shape my perspective of the world to be how it is and while I definitely complain about the boringness of Oklahoma, there is something so nice about always coming back to this quaint, quiet, traffic-less (seriously guys!!!), flat state. OK feels safe compared to the rest of the world sometimes. The people are nice, the places aren’t crowded, there is no rush, but on the flip side, it’s hard getting food delivered, there isn’t much to do, and having a rush of adrenaline is good sometimes. This post definitely made me view Oklahoma differently. I have gone downtown a million times but I’ve never really looked at it this way and seen all the beautiful little things. I can’t wait to look back on this in the future and remember my first home.

Let me know where you are from in the comments and enjoy these pictures!

IMG_0121.JPG
Devon Tower Interior

I’m so inspired by this indoor pond that looks as smooth as stone, I want something like this in my house. It’s so nice to look at in real life.

IMG_0123.JPG
Devon Tower and Mariot Garden Exterior

The tallest building in Oklahoma. Built just tall enough to be taller than the tallest building in Texas, because we are petty 🙂

IMG_0132.JPG
Mariot Garden Exterior
IMG_0125.JPG
Colorful Art
IMG_0145.JPG
Thunder Up

A few years ago, our city got a NBA team. For those of you outside the US, we got a basketball team. We’re called Thunder and we’re pretty good so it’s cool having that represent us.

IMG_0155.JPG
A Calm Boat Ride
FullSizeRender.jpg
Downtown OKC

Tiny compared to your downtown? Or do you live somewhere even smaller than me?

IMG_0151.JPG

IMG_0166.JPG
Allowing People to Make Music

This piano was out for anyone to play and I loved it, it was really cute.

IMG_0158.JPG

IMG_0159.JPG

IMG_0164.JPG
The Oklahoma Land Run

About 100 years ago, Oklahoma opened up it’s land to anyone so people poured in to claim land. These statues were recreating that. Look at that, I just gave you a history lesson.

IMG_0179.JPG
A Simple Time

Natives Americans were sent here on the trail of tears and Native American symbolization and tribe names are everywhere in Oklahoma, rightfully so because they started things here. They started the whole US but then they were wiped out. This just got so real, man people are terrible in history why are we like this.

IMG_0182.JPG
Oklahomas Tomorrow

Oklahoma is truly moving forward.

IMG_0174.JPG
Lit
IMG_0165.JPG
History

Like I said, Native American touches everywhere, this was one of 8 plaques surrounding a Native American statue.

FullSizeRender.jpg-1
Lit Part 2

Cool new art.

IMG_0184.JPG
A Fancy Date Spot
IMG_0139.JPG
That Quality Tho
IMG_0144.JPG
Spring Is Blooming

Thank you so so much for reading and I hope you enjoyed! Life is amazing and I can’t wait to move to a new place and experience something completely different. Where are you from? I want to know! I post every Tuesday and Saturday so please check back if you liked it! 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Absolutely beautiful photography, and with a phone camera! Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I’m so impressed by the quality

      Liked by 1 person

  2. solosocial says:

    Thanks so much for sharing those beautiful pictures with us!

    And thanks for following my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. growher says:

    My aunt has spent most of her adult life living in OK and she loves it there. I have never been but the idea of life at a slower pace sounds lovely.

    I am from Massachusetts and, while I love it here and can’t see myself leaving New England, the people here (myself included) are pretty impatient and not typically super friendly. It’s always so strange to me when I travel down South and people are so much nicer and helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I definitely have realized how nice we are down here through traveling! I’m glad I’ve grown up with this politeness that Ill always have when I move wherever 🙂 you should visit your aunt down here, what city does she live in?

      Like

      1. growher says:

        I believe she lived either in Oklahoma City or somewhere on the outskirts. She moved back here last year but plans to move back there again as soon as she can. I will have to visit her sometime when she goes back!

        Like

Leave a Reply

